Three fast


Today I have watched three horror movies with my friend, and instead of doing three long reviews I thought about doing three shorter reviews where I tell a bit about the movies and then rates them with a fast explanation about my rating. Since all the movies we saw were torture movies (it wasn’t meant to be like that but somehow it ended up like that anyways) I won’t have a scare-rate, instead I will have a gory-rate. It’s not only the blood that matters but the pain and how much disgust I felt when I watched it. (I won’t have the same kind of ratings everytime, some movies doesn’t have that much effects so then I take away that, sometimes I don’t think about the music when I watched the movie and then I take away that and sometimes I put in something new because I just liked or hated how they did that in that movie.)

So here comes my three fast reviews

Truth or die (Truth or dare) (2012)

The movie starts with a party where we get to know all the main characters personalities. After they have played a short game of truth or dare and been interrupted by a fight they cut to a near future. Five teenagers that were on the party got invited to another party deep into the woods. When they get there they hear that the party is canceled but they stay anyways to have a small private party. But the man hosting the party suddenly forces them to play a deadly version of truth or dare. The reason, he thinks one of those five teenagers are responsible for his brothers death, if he can’t get a confession out of one of them then he will kill them all.

So what did I think of this movie?

Plot: 4/5
I think the ‘alone in the woods where no one can hear you scream’ is a bit overused. Most of the characters are very stereotypic so you get the feeling that you have seen that person before but with another face. But I like the plot a lot too since they don’t leave us bored for very long, which often is a problem in horror movies. The ending was pretty unusual and the survivors is the once you least expect. Also the plot twist were wonderful and I bet that very few people could actually have guessed what was about to happen.

Effects: 4/5
(With effects I also mean horror make-up and fake blood)
They didn’t have that much effects before the end of the movie, but I thought they did very realistic blood and  one certain scene (trying not to spoil too much) where a guy gets a horrible flesh wound, that makeup is very well done.

Gory-rate: 3/5
They had a lot of blood, mostly from shots, he also only used one other way than the gun to hurt them which disappointed me and my friend since we thought they would make it a bit more interesting and do something new every dare.

Over all: 4/5
Even if its not scary I definitely thinks this is worthy of being a Halloween movie. Maybe as a warm up before the real horror movies starts. If you like Saw, final destination or hostel, then this movie is probably for you. Make sure you have a stomach that can take a bit, since it will be some disgusting scenes.

Chained (2012)

This movie starts with a nine year old boy named Tim and his mother, they are going to watch a movie at a cinema and afterwards they take a cab home. But the one driving the cab is Bob, a serial killer that has used his job as a taxi driver to be able to kidnap women to his home. He kidnaps Tim and his mother and after he has murdered Tim’s mom he forces Tim to work for him. He chains him up and makes him clean, make food and other chores. After years living with Bob that keeps murdering women while the child hears everything Bob decides to try and make Tim become a serial killer as well.

So what did I think about it?

Plot: 5/5
I really liked this plot, the ending wasn’t what I had expected but I can still understand why it ended like it did. The movie shows how the serial killer got obsessed with killing women and in the ending we get the truth about why Tim really got taken by Bob. We gets into the mind of a child that has been locked out from society for a long time and sees how he change when he grew older. It has a good pace and not overly violent. A lot of people would probably say that it was too little violence in it. But I give the plot 5 stars.

Gory-rate: 1/5
This movie barely had any scenes of violence at all, you mostly just heard the screams and sometimes now and then you got to see a fight or a stabbing.

Characters: 4.5/5
I just had to have this in the ratings since the actors made a really good job with portraying their characters, especially the one playing the older Tim. It was hard to find anyone that you really didn’t believe in. But then there came one person in the end whose character took down the rate a notch. But except that one person I thought the characters were splendid and the people that played the characters did a wonderful job.

Over all: 4/5
This is a good movie, and I want you to watch it because the story is great. But don’t watch it on Halloween, it won’t give you anything other than one and a half hours wasted movie time. This isn’t a Halloween movie but it is a movie that should be seen.

Vile (2011)

 

A group of friends gives a woman lift only to be tricked and kidnapped to a unknown place. They and a group of other people are trapped in a house and their only way out is to make a drug. They have gotten a tube operated into their brain and every time they are in pain their brains are making a chemical that can be used for drugs. So they have to torture each other until the meter gets to a hundred percent, before the clock has counted down to zero.
So what did I think?

Plot: 3.5/5
I thought the plot was a bit cliche with them being locked up in the house. Some of the movies I think about when I see it is house of 9 and my little eye, even one of the SAW movies pops up in my head. I think this has been used a bit too many times. The part where they have to torture each other and themselves to get out is a lot like SAW where they have to go threw a lot of pain to survive. But it’s not a bad plot, I think that even though they did a lot of things that has already been done they took in something new too it. The ending for example was nothing you would have expected after watching horror movies for years, also the characters were not so much stereotyped as in most movies.

Gory-rate: 4/5
They didn’t always show what they were doing and in the beginning they mostly used one way of torturing on everyone. But they had bone-breaking, knife cutting, nail destroying, burn wounds and so on.

Over all: 3.5/5
The plot is pretty much a remake of other older plots (like most movies today) But it still has a part in the plot that makes it interesting and unique. It’s interesting to see what they are doing to themselves to stay alive even though it reminds of SAW. I would say that this movie (just like truth or die) is worth to see on Halloween as a warm up movie before the really scary movies.

Leave a Reply

